Skip Navigation LinksHome >> Programs >> Improving a Home >> Accessible Homes for Seniors (AHS)

Accessible Homes for Seniors (AHS)

ABOUT the AHS Program

The Maryland Department of Housing and Community Development (DHCD), in partnership with the Maryland Department of Aging (MDoA), are undertaking a project to promote accessibility related improvements to the homes of seniors. These improvements may include, among others, the installation of grab bars and railings, widening of doorways and installation of ramps. Home improvements such as these represent for many older people the key to remaining in their home and maintaining their independence.

The program provides zero percent interest, deferred loans for a term of 30 years to finance accessibility improvements. The program is funded by DHCD under the Maryland Housing Rehabilitation Program (MHRP) and is administered by Special Loan Programs. The program is marketed through the local Area Agencies on Aging.

Eligible Applicants

Those eligible for the Program must:

  • Be Maryland residents with at least one resident age 55 or older.
  • Generally must own and occupy the home to be renovated as their principal residence. Seniors living with relatives will be considered on a case by case basis.
  • Reside in a home that is structurally sound and free of health and safety hazards.
  • Not have any outstanding federal or state tax liens, open bankruptcy or foreclosure.
  • Meet income requirements.

The household income cannot exceed 80% of the Statewide or Washington DC MSA median. If the senior resides in the home of a relative, eligibility is based on the owner’s income.

Eligible Improvements

Funds may be used to pay for the actual costs of making the house accessible or functional for the resident. This may include but is not limited to: widening doorways, installation of accessible showers, ramps, grab bars, and lever handles. Additions to accommodate first floor bathrooms and laundry rooms will also be considered on a case by case basis.

Loan Amount and Term

The maximum loan amount will be up to 110 percent of the value of the property taking into account any superior mortgages. The loans will be offered for terms of up to 30 years and must be repaid upon sale, transfer or refinance of the property. All closing costs will be included in the loan.

Submitting an Application

AHS Application Form   Applications are available at local County Housing Offices or the Maryland Access Point Agencies (MAP). Assistance in completing the application is available at the agency or an in-home appointment can be scheduled. Once the application is submitted, it will be processed by DHCD and the applicant will be contacted. For more information, you may call the MAP agency listed for your county, the Maryland Department of Aging or the Maryland Department of Housing and Community Development:

County Agency Contact Person Address/Telephone
Allegany Allegany County HRDC, Inc. Jennifer Glotfelty 125 Virginia Avenue
JGlotfelty@alleganyhrdc.org Cumberland, MD 21502
301-783-1752
Fax: 301-722-0937
Anne Arundel Anne Arundel Co.
Dept. of Aging and Disabilities
Chris Moore 2666 Riva Road
AGMoor89@aacounty.org Annapolis, MD 21401
410-222-4257, ext. 221
Fax: 410-222-4346
Baltimore City Office of Aging and
CARE Services
Naveed Raoof 417 East Fayette Street, 6th Floor
Naveed.Raoof@baltimorecity.gov Baltimore, MD 21202
410-396-2273
Baltimore County Baltimore County
Department of Aging
Peggy Miller 611 Central Avenue
PSMiller@baltimorecountymd.gov Towson, MD 21204
410-887-4202
Fax: 410-887-2015
Calvert Calvert County Area
Agency on Aging
Amy Boucher 450 West Dares Beach Rd.
Bouchear@co.cal.md.us Prince Frederick, MD 20678
410- 535-4606 ext. 132
Fax: (410) 535-1903
Carroll Carroll County Bureau on Aging Gina Valentine 125 Stoner Avenue
GValentine@ccg.carr.org Westminster, MD 21157
410-386-3800
Fax: 410-840-0436
Cecil Cecil County Department of Aging Eileen Ondra 200 Chesapeake Blvd., Suite 2550
EOndra@ccgov.org Elkton, MD 21921
410-996-8172
Fax: 410-620-9483
Charles Charles County
Area Agency on Aging,
Aging and Senior Programs Division
Bonnie Hampton 8190 Port Tobacco Road
HamptonB@charlescounty.org Port Tobacco, MD 20677
301-934-0111
Fax: 301-934-0126
Frederick Frederick County Department of Aging Kathy Schey 1440 Taney Avenue
KSchey@frederickcountymd.gov Frederick, MD 21702
301-600-3520
Fax: 301-600-3554
Garrett Garrett County Community Action Committee Karen Clapper 104 East Center Street
KClapper@garrettcac.org Oakland, MD 21550
301-533-9000
Fax: 301-334-8555
Harford Harford County Office on Aging Anne Cerruto 145 North Hickory Ave.
AMCerruto@harfordcountymd.gov Bel Air, MD 21014
410-638-3025
Fax: 410-893-2371
Howard Howard County Office on Aging Peggy Hoffman 6751 Columbia Gateway Drive, 2nd Floor
MHoffman@howardcountymd.gov Columbia, MD 21046
410-313-5979
Fax: 410-313-6540
Dorchester, Somerset, Wicomico MAC Inc. Teri Davidson 909 Progress Circle
TLD@macinc.org Salisbury, MD 21804
410-742-0505 ex 109
Fax: 410-742-0525
Montgomery Montgomery County Division of Aging and Disability Services Jennifer Long 401 Hungerford Drive, 3rd Floor
Jennifer.Long@montgomerycountymd.gov Rockville, MD 20850
240-777-3373
Fax: 240-777-4575
Prince George’s Prince George’s County
Dept. of Family Services,
Aging Services Division
Deborah McBroom 6420 Allentown Road
DCMcBroom@co.pg.md.us Camp Springs, MD 20748
301-265-8450
Fax: 301-248-5358
Queen Anne’s Queen Anne’s County Department of Community Services Anne Bik 104 Powell Street
ABik@qac.org Centreville, MD 21617
410-758-1040 ex 2715
Fax: 410-758-4489
St. Mary’s St. Mary’s Department of Aging Monika Williams 41780 Baldridge Street
Monika.Williams@stmarysmd.com Leonardtown, MD 20650
301-475-4200 ext 1057
Fax:301-737-5670
Caroline, Kent Upper Shore Aging, Inc. Debbie Cavalier 100 Schauber Road
DCavalier@uppershoreaging.org Chestertown , MD 21620
410-778-6000
Fax:410-778-3562
Talbot Upper Shore Aging, Inc. Debbie Cavalier 400 Brookletts Ave.
DCavalier@uppershoreaging.org Easton, MD 21601
410-822-2869, ex 255
Fax: 410-820-9563
Washington Washington County Commission on Aging, Inc. Belinda Corbett 140 W. Franklin Street
BCorbett@wccoaging.org 4th Floor
Hagerstown, MD 21740
301-790-0275 ex 208
Fax:301-739-4957
Worcester Worcester County Becky Jones 4767 Snow Hill Road
Health Department RJones@maryland.gov Snow Hill, MD 21863
410-632-9915, ext. 183
Fax: 410-632-9902
Maryland Department of Aging Ami Vyas 301 West Preston Street, Suite 1007
Ami.Vyas@maryland.gov Baltimore, MD 21201

410-767-1088

Maryland Department of Housing and Community Development Linda DeLuca
100 Community Place, 4th Floor
DeLuca@mdhousing.org Crownsville, MD 21032

410-514-7385

Smart, Green and Growing MD stateStat